As a Nevada Public Library account holder, you agree to return all items checked out in your name. The Nevada Public Library will be held harmless from liability in the event of damage, loss or misuse of materials and equipment regardless of circumstances.
1. Responsibility: You are responsible for all items checked out on your account. If you allow someone else to check out items on your account, you are still responsible for their return and the fines and fees associated with those items if applicable.
2. Circulation: Books, CDs, and magazines are checked out for 3 weeks with 2 renewals. Items except those with reserves on them may be renewed in person, online, or by phone. The fine on these items is 15 cents per day per item.
3. DVD circulation period: DVDs are checked out for 1 week with 1 renewal. There is a $0.50 per day fine for each overdue DVD. There is a limit of 5 DVDs per account.
4. Renewal limit: Items that have reached the renewal limit will need to be brought into the library physically to ensure that the items are not lost or damaged. At that time, the patron is welcome to check the item out again. There is no automatic renewal.
5. Fine threshold: The library allows up to $5.00 in fines/fees per account before the account holder is restricted from checking out library items. The library will work with users on a case-by-case basis to set up payment plans when all charges cannot be paid at one time. A patron entering into a payment plan will be allowed to check out 1 item at a time while continuing to make payments. If at any point after establishing a plan, the patron receives an overdue notification at 2 weeks as indicated below, the patron's card will remain blocked without checkout until all charges are paid.
6. Notification process:
a. A courtesy notice will be sent 2 days before items are due to all patrons who have a valid email address on file.
b. At 2 weeks overdue, an overdue notice is mailed to the address listed on the account. It is therefore helpful if you let the library know when your address or phone number changes.
c. At 4 weeks overdue, a bill notice will be mailed to the address listed in the account. This notice will state the item/s missing with the price of the items and any associated fees.
d. At 6 weeks overdue, a report of the missing library materials may be made to the Nevada Police Department.
7. Lost item charges: Charges for lost items will include the cost of the item plus an additional $3 processing fee per item. Charges for lost Interlibrary Loan items will be the cost of the item and $5, plus any fees required by the lending library. If lost items are found before they're paid, patrons may return the item and will be charged the maximum fine for the item, not the replacement cost and processing fee.
8. Paid lost items: When account holders return paid-lost items to the Nevada Public Library, they must have the receipt in order to be reimbursed, and they will be reimbursed only the cost of the item, not the fines and fees paid. Account holders will only be reimbursed for paid-lost items within 3 months of the date on the receipt.
9. Calculation of fines: Only open days are counted when calculating fines.
10. Overnight returns: Items returned to the outside drop box by 10 AM will be considered returned on the previous day that the library was open.
11. Maximum fines: There is a maximum overdue fine of $3 for all library items.
12. Fine appeals: Account holders who wish to appeal the fines and fees on overdue or lost items will be referred to the director or designee.
13. School returns: During the school year, Nevada Public Library books and magazines checked out on Nevada Community School and SDA student accounts may be returned to the school media centers. Current fines on those items will be removed. DVDs may not be returned to the schools.